No Tomorrow Update 6

Posted: October 18, 2012 in FX, No Tomorrow
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

So, it has been a long while since I have posted anything about the No Tomorrow, way too long.

It has changed a huge amount again since its last iteration, but I think I’m finally getting somewhere with it. I’ve made the circuit a whole heap better, and to be honest it is closer to a whole new pedal than the designs you have seen before. I just understand a lot more about electronics in general than I did when I first started working on this. There are now 2 controls, fuzz and volume (imaginative huh?!). The volume simply controls the output, but the fuzz is a little more complex. Rather than a traditional fuzz face/muff design I have gone for an initial silicon transistor based boost into an opamp. The fuzz control adjusts both the voltage that the opamp runs on (but does not affect its reference voltage), and also the gain of the opamp, which at the same time pushes it harder and starves it of voltage. As the fuzz is increased the difference between the reference voltage and the supply voltage narrows which creates a gated velco-y type effect. It is very different to a typical misbiased splattery transistor fuzz but will sound pretty nasty. It’s certainly not going to be for everyone but I want it to just be one of those pedals that makes me smile every time you hit it on.

Still needs a huge amount of work on the breadboard, but I should have some rough sound samples up soon.

Leave a Reply

