Catalinbread Heliotrope as a feedback loop droner!

Posted: February 6, 2012 in General
Tags: , , ,

Just a quick post – I received a Catalinbread Heliotrope through the post last week – it’s a great pedal, a weird one and defiantly one that is a tweaker. You really need to give it some time, but you can get some great sounds out of it.

Anyway, the point of the post being, I tried it in the loop of the Divide By Zero prototype I’m currently building, and it was FANTASTIC! It drones away quite happily to itself, and is tunable with a combination of the sample rate and resolution controls, creating some fantastic noise. I use this as my feedback base, and had a Malekko Phase running just after it doing some really, really weird stuff. The Catalinbread is exactly the kind of thing I’ve been harping on about, blend it in slightly as a background to my distortions and you get a fantastic textured sound!

When the pedal is finished I’ll get a video up, but for now I recommend anyone with a feedback looper and a Heliotrope give it a try!

Leave a Reply

